Fantasies, spankings and the BBC

Studying a Creative Writing module for the Open University is a lot harder than I anticipated. I thought, yeah it will be fine. It will be fun! I’ve got plenty of material to use. Nah. I’ve really struggled this year. Possibly because I decided to go full-time and do a Worlds of English module at the same time. (Turns out I’m not as much of a grammar Nazi as Hubby thinks I am.) But anyhoo, the last assignment, the EMA, is to write the opening of a novel. I have plenty of unpublished works to choose from, but none of them seem appropriate. I’m pretty sure the OU are looking for something more literary than a sex scene. It’s okay though, because there is always that fantasy series I’ve been working on for about three years now, right? Wrong.

Unless you have sat down and actually tried to write a fantasy novel, there is no way I can describe how much of a ball-ache it really is. Fantasy – you can make shit up, yeah? I thought so too. But wow, so much has been done, it’s difficult to find an original story idea for a start. At least with romance, nobody cares that a particular trope has been done to death. With romance I’ve always been a pantster writer, with fantasy it takes so much more planning. Timelines, family trees… My desk is just one giant notebook.

desk.png

So the OU may just have to deal with someone having their ass spanked, because I’m not sure I can come up with 2,500 words of something more intelligent.

Speaking of spanking… Today I found out that the most commonly used term to bring up my website and blog is “BDSM romance” which is interesting when you consider that the only two BDSM books I’ve written are Taking Care of Leah and A Different Kind of Therapy. All the others are technically classed as erotic romance, but have vanilla sex as opposed to anything remotely kinky. And even then, it has been commented that both TCoL and ADKoT aren’t really erotica, and barely scratch the BDSM world’s surface, as can be seen in reviews on Cara Sutra’s Pleasure Panel reviews, here and here. But maybe it’s a sign? Maybe I am supposed to write more in-depth books with regards to the kinkiness that is BDSM. It’s always been a fascination – remember that time I tried my hand at online domination? I still have foot fans and random people sending my alter-ego shoes. Maybe I need to research more. Of course this may be a problem consider the BBC are going to be following me around for a couple of days soon.

Did I not mention that? Yes, because I’m a student with the OU and a full-time writer and a full-time Mum, and walking dogs and volunteering at school, a member of the local PTA and a girl-guiding leader, they have decided to use me in one of their online learning videos. Eek! For 2 days at some point, I will have a camera and a director following me around and interviewing me. I don’t suppose they will want to watch me taking pictures of my feet and being social on websites like FetLife. So that will be fun.

But back to the grindstone. Books don’t write themselves, and neither do EMA’s. When my last assignment (a short story) comes back, I might post it online for you all to read, for free.

Leave a Reply

