It’s not surviving, it’s living…

I’ve said before that I think I might be a secret prepper, but from January that might become true.

2016 has been a God-awful year. Yes, we’ve had some joy in the form of books being published, contracts being signed, and the best family holiday that we’ve ever had. But like the rest of the planet, it has not been all happiness and smiles. As well as Brexit, the US elections, and the deaths of numerous celebrities taking over the news, we’ve had  hard time ourselves. My daughter has been in and out of hospital with her on-going issues (although we had the good news that they think it’s only a lactose intolerance as opposed to anything life-threatening / changing), she had problems at school (again, dealt with but still stressful and upsetting), and someone I considered to be a friend sadly passed away only a few weeks ago. All of this, and more has forced us to re-evaluate our lives and we came to one big decision – something needs to change.

Hubby currently works for a computer consumables sales company, supporting his business as a photographer. He’s also fast-approaching 40. Life’s too short to spend it doing nothing but working. So, we’ve given ourselves two years, and then once Hubby has hit the big four-oh, we’re both going self-employed, full-time. No more working for other people. I will have finished my OU degree by then, and we will have the time and energy to push his photography and my writing. Unfortunately, it means a massive pay cut.

Money may not be the ‘be all and end all’, but when you have to pay rent, council tax, utility bills, and feed your family then it has to be considered. We already know that we live beyond our means, something that has to change. But we have 2 years to get ourselves together, save what we can, and essentially prep for a time when we haven’t got a steady income.

The first step is food. Our family is all about food. I even have a (not very well-kept) blog on food, specifically for children with allergies and intolerances. We have a huge fridge and two freezers, so my plan? Batch bake and freeze. For the next two years, I will be filling my freezers with pre-cooked and slow-cooker meals.

At the moment I’m planning and writing lists, something I enjoy doing anyway. It’s going to be a shock to the system when it all gets put into action in January!

If you have any tips, please let me have them…

Leave a Reply

