Sun, sea, sand and hot, hot stories! #BeachHolidays #EroticRomance #eBooks #Mallorca

sunset

I’ve just returned from a fabulous family holiday in Mallorca (or Majorca, however you want to spell it), and feel so relaxed it’s ridiculous. Not only did I get some quality time with Hubby and the two sproglings, but I also conquered a fear or two, and read FIVE book – count ’em, FIVE. Okay, so four of them were more novellas than full-on books, but they still count!

When we arrived at Iberostar Club Cala Barca, it was early evening and after we’d unpacked and eaten, we headed for the beach. The hotel is set in it’s own private Cala, and at sunset is so quiet and peaceful, and beautiful. While the kids paddled, I sat back on the sand and soaked it all in. For months I’d been planning this holiday, packing, ensuring passports and insurances were all up-to-date, having panic attacks about all sorts of possible scenarios (the kids drowning or being kidnapped being the two most common), and we were finally there. So far, no incidents.

beach

Before we left, I asked for recommendations to download onto my Kindle, and was inundated with suggestions. Kindle loaded with a range of books from erotica to paranormal, I settled myself into the holiday.

I have a fear of the sea – well not the sea per se, but being out of my depth with things touching my legs. It comes after a few incidents at the beach stemming back to my childhood, when holidaying in Wales I was playing in the sea and a big wave crashed over me, leaving me with worm-like eels in my hair. Follow that with a honeymoon in Mexico, snorkelling three miles off-shore, with heatstroke and nearly drowning, and my fear was set in. So while Hubby took the kids out to look at the pretty silver fish swimming over the rocks, I unfolded a towel and started working on my tan. I was soon joined by a shark (originally named Sharky by Boy-Child).

Over the period of three days I managed to read four books in Tirgearr Publishing’s City Nights Series, a series I have two books in myself. I read Rome, New Orleans, San Francisco and Amsterdam, and for a while Hubby thought he was married to my Kindle.

In between reading books, we moved around the hotel and tried various pools. But while the children swam and played, I read and drank. Club Cala Barca is an all-inclusive hotel and so plenty of cocktails were consumed, including a Caipirinha de Fresa and many, many Pina Coladas! Of course the children stuck to raspberry and cola slushies. Food was plentiful as well, and I think I may have consumed my weight in paella.

food

During one day by the beach though, I was all on my own, reading my Kindle, when a ball came screaming through the air and landed by my side, narrowly missing my whiter-than-white stomach. The gorgeous dad who’d been playing with his son, apologised profusely, and inspiration struck! WIP5 is currently being worked on… This did not go down well with the family, who now not only believe they’ve lost me to my books, but also to my notepad. Well of course I always carry one with me, I am a writer after all!

writing

To apologise to the small-people, I decided to bite the bullet and get in the water. The pool was first. We found one close to the bars and restaurants, with a shallow end for me to dip my toe in. Bloody hell it was cold! But soon, I was splashing and playing with the children, book forgotten. We needed to dry off though, so I sent hubby into the pool, switched the Kindle back on and read book number 5 – a paranormal romance ‘Shadows of Jane’ by Amy Hale.

pool

And then came the conquering of fears. I really should try my hand at snorkelling. And I did! Complete with lilo to keep me afloat, and mask, I went out of my depth, stuck my head in the water and swam with the fishes. GO ME!

But the week is over now, and we’re back home. It took getting up at 4.30am, a 2 hour bus-journey, queuing at Palma, a 2 hour flight (delayed by an hour), and a 2 hour drive from Cardiff to Somerset, but we are home. I’m less white than I was – although unlike Girl-Child who goes brown just looking at the sun, I’m a red-head and it’s more a case of freckles joining together.

freckles

And so begins work on WIP5, and planning next year’s holiday…

All reviews can be read on my latest blog: heartthrobs.wordpress.com 

The hotel review will be available on my TripAdvisor account shortly.

Leave a Reply

