When reading becomes an Olympic sport…

I wouldn’t even win a bronze medal.

There was a time when I would read a book a day – no, seriously, I could sit and read an entire novel in a single day. I’d read it while I was getting dressed, eating my breakfast, take it down to work with me and read it during my breaks or while I was on cleaning duty, read during lunch, and then as soon as I finished? More reading. I would have won a gold medal before anyone else had even picked up a book. But now? Now, I’m lucky if I can read a chapter in one day.

As much as I hate Goodreads, I do like their reading challenge, and take part each year. When I started, I was reading between 40 and 50 books a year. This year, my target is 10. TEN! And I have read 5 so far this year – the second and third George R. R. Martin “A Song of Ice and Fire” books, 2 of Tirgearr Publishing’s City Night Series (Paris and Boise), and the final instalment of Sylvia Day’s Crossfire series. I’m currently reading Zara Stoneley’s Country Affairs. I can’t even blame the books – sometimes a book is really hard to get into and drags my reading, but these have all been easy to read. Some of them have been more difficult than others, but considering the City Night books are novellas, I should have read more by now. And I don’t think I’m going to hit my target. I have 5 months left, and the next book on my TBR list is Book Four of A Song of Ice & Fire – these books take me months to read.

country affairs

The current read.

My daughter is a mini-bookworm. She decided to take part in our local library’s summer reading challenge – read six books over six weeks. She completed it in one day. ONE. DAY. Okay, granted that her books are a lot shorter than mine. She’s currently obsessed with the Daisy Meadows books – Rainbow Fairies. It’s lower than her reading capability, but she loves them, so I’m not going to argue. In the time it’s taken me to read half of Country Affairs, she has read pretty much the entire series, plus a few Roald Dahl as well. (She will read Matilda in one night.) I envy her.

I don’t have an excuse for my lack of reading. I’d like to say it’s because I’m working hard at writing, or marketing, or housework, or being a parent during the summer holidays. But the truth is I’ve had plenty of time to read and I’ve found myself watching the Summer Olympics, or crappy TV, or playing on Facebook. But, I have a holiday to Majorca coming up, and I hope that I will get plenty of reading done them. The Kindle is fully-loaded with new titles. I suppose like a marathon, I still have time to catch up. Maybe if I leave George R. R. Martin at home, I might just make it to the finish line, and not crash and burn.

Leave a Reply

