Sofa-rest and crappy TV

Last week, Valentine’s was ruined by my gallbladder. Halfway through a beautiful, romantic weekend, I was rushed to A&E as it filled with huge stones. And they were huge. I saw them on the scan. I was kept in for several days, and on the Wednesday they decided to cut me open and remove the pain-inducing bag. Thursday, and I was released, but on strict instructions to relax and do nothing for at least a week. Well we’re a week on now, and I am BORED. AS. HELL.

teafood.jpg

What I should have been enjoying

I have watched all five and a half seasons of The Walking Dead. I have watched The Frankenstein Chronicles. I have re-watched most of Hawaii 5-O and NCIS: Los Angeles. I am half way through A Storm of Swords Part One. I have wrist ache from colouring and doing crossword after crossword. I have even finished knitting a little doll’s dress that I started 5 years ago.

I can’t eat, which is getting me down. Well, that’s not strictly true. I can eat. I just can’t eat anything I want. I want a curry. Or a kebab. Or even Chinese food. But considering it was a pizza that put me in hospital, I’ve been told to avoid junk food. In fact, anything with fats or oils in it. But I thought, that’s okay at least I can drink a cup of tea. Nope. Caffeine, lactose, gluten, fats and oils all make me violently ill. So I am stuck with decaff (why is that even a thing?!) and herbal teas with lactose-free milk (which is fine because I’m lactose intolerant anyway), and living on soups, salads, and cereal. I’ve managed to eat a stir-fry and fajitas, but it’s not a chicken tikka masala with pilau rice, onion bhajis and garlic naan bread.

arm.jpg

My actual view for the week

The weirdest thing about this whole experience though? I miss the gym. I never, in my wildest dreams, thought I would ever say that. I actually miss going for a run on the treadmill and planking and using the cross-trainer. I miss the pride I felt for hitting 2k, and making my Fitbit vibrate as I reached my daily goal of steps.

I can’t tell you how much pain I’m in either. Not just pain though. Discomfort. Pain can be dealt with – ibuprofen, paracetamol and it abates for a while. Discomfort though… That’s a bitch. I have four holes in me; one at the base of my cleavage, two in my right side, and one in my belly button. That’s one under my bra, and three in the creases of where I bend. To make it even better, our recliner sofa broke (it’s now fixed), so I couldn’t recline. I had to sit or lie. Except I couldn’t lie down because that hurt. And I can’t sit straight because that hurts. I needed to lean. URGH.

A week later and the pain is going – it stings more than hurts. I’ve been living in my pjs, but today I managed to put on a pair of jeans and a yoga bra. Granted, it only lasted for 2 hours before I was stripping off and climbing back into sweats and a baggy T-shirt, but I was dressed long enough to do the school run. This is a huge achievement.

I’m not the most patient of people, and I hate having to ask for help, so it took a lot for me to admit that I needed someone else to do the school runs and after-school clubs. Luckily, I have a lot of good friends and family around me, and I feel very grateful and blessed. But still, I would have preferred to do it myself.

Thank you to everyone who has helped out over the past couple of weeks. Thank you for all the well-wishes and cards. Slowly but surely, I am improving. Scar tissue from previous surgeries and other health issues have meant the healing process has been slowed, but I’m getting there. Plus, I started writing a new book…

Leave a Reply

