RIP RWLS

Some of you may know that 6 months ago (or just a bit over), I headed down a new fork in the road of life. With almost 10 years experience of editing and fact-checking, and 15 years of CV writing, I set up RW Literary Services, offering these (and other) skills for a price. And for the past 6 months, whilst not wholly successful, I have been happy with the way things have been going. However, 2016 has bought a whole series of new challenges and something has to give. Unfortunately, it is a case of last thing in, first thing out, and so it is with a sad heart that I say RIP RWLS, and close down the business.

However, this is not the end, simply a junction with a ‘Give Way’ sign. 2016 will see one, if not two or three, new books being published, and I need to give my previous books some much needed love, marketing and promoting. I am studying for an English Lit & Creative Writing degree, which requires me to study for an exam in June. My photographer husband needs some with a creative mind and flair for the dramatics (can’t think why he chose me…) to help design and style his models as he embarks on a new project. I volunteer for the Girl Guides, and am studying to become a qualified leader for Brownies. I run blogs and websites…

And more than that – much, much more than that – my children need me. My daughter has minor health complaints. I say minor, because it is nothing serious, and something she will grow out of eventually. But until she grows out of them, she needs GP & hospital visits and regular medication. My son is a typical boy, but struggles with hyperactivity and attention problems. With so much energy to burn, he needs a mum who isn’t sat on her backside editing someone else’s novel saying “in a minute sweetheart.” On top of that, I am a full-time housewife, mum and pet owner – a 24-hour job in itself!

Something has to give before I burn out. I’ve already given up article writing and freelancing. I’ve already given up my paid job and several volunteering bits and pieces. I now have to say goodbye to RWLS.

Thank you to everyone who has supported me on this journey.

One thought on “RIP RWLS

Leave a Reply

