Happy New Year 2016!

Yup, it’s 2016 already. Wow. Where did 2015 go?

2015, for me, was an awful year – full of dizzying highs and depressing lows, with no middle ground. Yes, I saw my sister get married, welcomed new babies into the world, had a couple of books published, and signed a contract with Totally Entwined (Totally Bound) for next year. But I also buried my dad, and as executor of his will, spent the last 12 months fighting with solicitors, banks, debt collectors, the tax man, and many others. All of this meant that I wasn’t in the right frame of mind to be who I am, and made a lot of silly mistakes. I didn’t write anywhere near as much as I normally do, I haven’t blogged, tweeted or marketed anywhere near as much as I should.

2016 is a new year, and as much as it is a cliche, time for a new me.

I have a lot of plans for 2016. I’m starting with RW Literary Services. I started this business in 2015, at a time when I really shouldn’t have, because I wasn’t able to nurture it in the way that I should have. So, while I am not dissolving it, I am putting it on the back-burner.

I need to get on with my English degree. I won’t finish it until 2018 at the earliest, but it’s time to actually knuckle down and concentrate and be a planner rather than a pantster.

I am going to look seriously at my fantasy novel, and create a pen-name for it. I started writing it in 2014, but it’s not great. In fact it’s pretty sh*t. So I’m going to hit delete and start again – planning, not pantsing.

I am tightening my belt, both physically and metaphorically. I’ve been training at the gym for over a year and have done really well, but it’s time to be more serious about it. I’m working from home now, and have no intention of going back into a workplace environment, which means I have all the time that I make for myself. I am going to use that time to save money where I can, and make myself healthier and fitter.

I am going to be happier. 2015 was miserable. 2016 will be better.

Leave a Reply

