Don’t take me at my best

This poem is written for everyone who thinks they have to spend hours each morning, creating the perfect image.

Don’t Take Me At My Best

Don’t take me at my best,

When my hair is not a mess,

Don’t knock upon my door,

When there are no clothes on the floor,

Don’t take me out for fun,

When I have my makeup done.

Ask if I am free,

Before I’ve had a cup of tea,

Call at an early hour,

Before I’ve had a shower,

Come and ring the bell,

When I look like hell.

Because you need to see,

What it’s like to be me,

You need to understand,

Before I take your hand,

Only take me at my best,

And you don’t deserve the rest.

Copyright 2015 Charlotte Howard. All Rights Reserved.
Leave a Reply

