Book Release: Fifty Shades of Green

fiftyshadesofgreen

The Seeds of “Seed”

             I am not the type of writer who preplans everything before writing a story. Often I will see a call for submissions that intrigues me and then sit down to write. Only after I finish writing do I see what caused the story to germinate.

            “Seed,” my contribution to Fifty Shades of Green, is like that. Though gardens have always been erotic hotspots—especially for pollinators flitting from plant to plant—I had not considered the erotic implications for gardeners until I read Fifty Shades of Green’s call for submissions. Then my mind was filled with dirty thoughts, and not just about mulch and compost!

            Now that “Seed” has been published, I look back and see three obvious influences:

  1. For the past ten years I have been managing editor of a gardening magazine, and over the years I have edited many articles about community gardens. What better place for people to meet and develop relationships?
  2. I’ve been writing erotica, under my own name and a variety of pseudonyms, almost as long as I’ve been writing. My characters usually have their assignations indoors, but why not have this one outdoors?
  3. Though I don’t write as much of it now as I did then, I began my career writing science fiction and fantasy and have been a panelist at many SF/F conventions over the years. The art shows have been a particular favorite of mine, and who better than a fantasy artist to become involved with the community garden’s nocturnal visitor?

            So who—or what—does my fantasy artist meet in the community garden next to his home, and what, exactly, do they do there? Find out by reading “Seed” in Fifty Shades of Green.

 —Michael Bracken

 Excerpt from Fifty Shades of Green, “Seed”

 

The next time I saw the woman dancing naked in the garden I was prepared. I made several sketches of her that night and hung them in my studio. The following morning, a Saturday when most of my neighbors gathered to garden and gossip, I passed around a sketch of just her face. No one recognized the woman and I returned home to work on the cover of an urban fantasy about werewolves in Wichita.

That afternoon, when I took a break from my work, Henry joined me on the porch. I showed him all of my sketches of the naked dancer. “You know her?”

Just as the other neighbors had denied knowing the woman, he too denied knowing her, but after he stared at the sketches a bit longer, he looked at me. “She dances in the garden?”

I told him she did.

“And you’re the only one who sees her?”

“Seems that way.”

He cocked his head to the side and stared at me for so long I thought he’d drifted away. “She’s chosen you.”

He wouldn’t answer any more of my questions and I finally stopped asking. Whatever Henry thought he knew he wasn’t prepared to share.

 I sat up late every night after that, propped up on the window seat in my bedroom where I could watch the community garden from the second floor. When the dancing woman finally returned, I slipped out of my house wearing only cut-offs and a T-shirt, and I crossed the yard to the garden. When the naked woman saw me standing at one end of the central path, she stopped dancing.

“Who are you?” I asked. “Why are you here?”

She touched her finger to her lips, silencing me. She stepped lightly down the path until she stood less than a foot from me. She took my hand, lifted it to her lips, and kissed my palm. Then she placed my hand on her breast, the damp spot in the center of my palm pressing against her tightening nipple. Her full breast was soft yet firm, and I reached out to take her other breast in my other hand.

She wrapped her hands around the back of my neck and pulled me close enough to cover my lips with hers and slip her tongue into my mouth. She tasted of cucumbers and tomatoes and bell peppers and sweet onions.

 Blurb and buy links

 Fifty Shades of Green is a garden of naughty delights!

Within our pages you’ll discover:

– Virile gods and their mortal conquests.
– A community garden’s secret (and very dirty) fertility ritual.
– An Edwardian dominatrix living out her sadistic garden fantasies.
– Student/teacher lessons in horticultural hotness.
– Young lovers seeking the help of green witches.
– A beautiful, blind priest who helps an injured traveler.
. . . and so much more.

Peek inside the garden gate.

(You know you want to.)

A dozen racy tales await.

Fifty Shades of Green is a collection of twelve delicious and erotic short stories with gardening themes. What you’ll find in these pages is hotter than the hottest pepper on the Scoville index of heat! And smart, not smutty. Well . . . maybe a little smutty.

 To Buy Fifty Shades of Green (it’s on sale, just for you):

 Amazon.com UK

Amazon.com US

 Author Bio

 Michael Bracken is the managing editor of a bi-monthly gardening magazine, the editor of a weekly gardening e-newsletter, and the author of erotic stories published in anthologies such as Cowboy Heat, Cowboy Lust, Flesh and Blood: Guilty as Sin, Hot Blood: Strange Bedfellows, The Mammoth Book of Best New Erotica, The Mammoth Book of Erotic Confessions, and many other publications. He lives and writes in Texas.

 Michael Bracken’s website

 FREE Sample Stories!

 To sample two free stories from Fifty Shades of Green visit our Garden Shorts website.

 If you sign up for our newsletter you will be sent “Seed” (our sexy story about a community garden’s secret fertility ritual).

 To read “Phallus Impudicus,” (a tale about the horny god Pan’s visit with a lonely gardener) just click on the Fifty Shades SAMPLE! tab

 

tourbutton_fiftyshadesofgreen

2 thoughts on “Book Release: Fifty Shades of Green

Leave a Reply

