What’s in a name?

I’ve discussed names before, but recently it came up again. I have a new book come out in just over a weeks time – One Night in Edinburgh is due out on 18th November, and is written under my name: Charlotte Howard. Yes, it’s my real name, not a pen name. But, I am not the only Charlotte Howard out there, and I’m not the only Charlotte Howard who writes books either. In fact I believe there are at least two, possibly three more.

On Amazon, this isn’t a problem because we can create our own author page, and simply add the books that we have written, ignoring the ones that aren’t ours, so we can track things like sales and reviews. However, on Goodreads, it gets confusing. From what I can tell (and I may be wrong, so please feel free to comment and let me know how to fix it!), Goodreads essentially list the books for you. As an author, I created an author’s page, but when I put my name as Charlotte Howard, all the other books (that aren’t mine) were listed against my name. I didn’t want that – they’re not my books! So I listed myself as Charlotte V. Howard, with my middle initial. Unfortunately this means that my poor publishers then have to go through the rigmarole of changing the author name of the books, so it looks like my name doesn’t match my books! Oh it’s so confusing…

But anyway – I don’t want to use a pen name, because I like my name and I’d be pretty rubbish at leading a double life. I just wanted to let all my readers know that if you’re leaving a review (and I do appreciate them!) please use Charlotte V. Howard on Goodreads.

Oh, and go buy my new book!

Leave a Reply

