Guest Spot: Charlotte Howard – The Black Door

Bitches Be Writin'

Thanks for hosting. Something I get asked a lot is about getting published, so thought I would use this time to talk about how I ended up with a contract and the importance of networking.

 I started writing poetry and short stories when I was young. When I was 10 I wrote a poem, 4 years later my grandma sent it into a competition and the prize was to be published. That was the first time I got featured in an anthology and got the bug. From then on I knew that I wanted to be a published author.

I knew that writing was a difficult business though, and almost gave up on my dream – going into veterinary nursing instead. Then when I was pregnant, I started writing again. I found a website that would let me publish my poems and short stories and pay me! It only earned…

View original post 933 more words

Leave a Reply

