Holidays, publicity, and rescuing little sisters

Oh wow. Talk about busy month! With the release of The Black Door on 11th July, I have been manic with organising reviews and publicity. Sadly the publicity bit doesn’t seem to be going so well with local news being far from interested. (Apparently the market is flooded with contemporary / erotic romances, especially since a certain book is about to release it’s movie.) But, the fabulous Lucy Felthouse of Writer Marketing Services has been great with doing a release blitz, and I’ve been featured on some amazing and interesting blogs. I also have a blog tour set out for the near future, so keep an eye out for me!

The Black Door by Charlotte Howard - 1800HR

It’s also the summer holidays here in the UK. Finally! It’s been a loooooong term. We’re going to make the most of it by heading off to the wonderful bubble that is DisneyLand Paris for a few days. I’m both dreading it and excited. I haven’t been since I was 17-ish, so that’s… 15-ish years ago. This time though, I’m not going with my little sister, I’m taking my own kids. I know it’s going to be fun, but it’s already expensive, and already stressful. Having to sort out cat- and dog-sitters, pack the car, pack suitcases, is stressful. Packing the car has been the worst so far. I didn’t realise that France has so many rules! Our car already has a EU license plate (GB with the EU logo on it), but we’ve had to buy things to change the headlights so we don’t blind people, high-vis jackets, a warning triangle (to be fair, we should have had one of those already), and breathalisers! We got a road map as well since France apparently has rules on using SatNavs that have GPS locators on them to find speed cameras.

It’s going to take about 7 or 8 hours to drive from Somerset to DisneyLand, and yes we’re taking the Channel Tunnel. No way you’re getting me on a boat! So we’re going to pack the car full of snacks and drinks, and I’ve bought the kids a “Where’s Wally?” book to keep them amused. We’ve also got the Frozen soundtrack. Not sure I can cope with 8 hours of LET IT GO! LET IT GO! I AM ONE WITH THE WIND AND SKYYYY!

But it will be fun. IT. WILL. BE. FUN.

Then when we get back, I’m rescuing my little sister. I say little. She’s at least 9 inches taller than me. Younger though, by nearly 9 years. She’s been working in Ibiza for nearly 2 months and it’s time to return home. Except with our Mum moving house, and my other sister moving house, I seem to be the only person with a spare room. Plus there are jobs down this end of the country at the moment.

So 4 days in DisneyLand, an 8 hour trek each way, followed by a 4 hour trek each way up to Lincoln. I’m going to need a holiday once I’ve finished. Except August is looking to be just as busy with birthday parties, sleepovers, and work planned.

Sleep is so overrated.

**I’m still looking for reviewers for both The Black Door and Seven Dirty Words. If you are a prolific blogger with a good following, FB page, Twitter account, and able to post reviews on Amazon and Goodreads, please email me: charlotte@charlottehowardauthor with links to your sites. The Black Door is available in PDF or mobi version, worldwide. Seven Dirty Words is available in print to UK readers.**

**All books are available to buy via the publishers websites, and through Amazon.**

Leave a Reply

