Guest Blog, Cathy Mansell

Cathy Mansell

2012 052

Biography:

Member of Leicester Writers Club, Life President of Lutterworth Writers’ Group, member of NAWG, Just Write, Romantic Novelist Association and past president of Leicester Riverside Speakers club.

Cathy is an experienced writer of romantic fiction. Her early work was competition short stories and articles published in national magazines. She was Editor in Chief of the Leicestershire Anthology, ‘Taking Off’, a book promoted and supported by Arts Council UK.

In recent times Cathy has turned to writing full length novels that are set in Ireland/England in 19c. Having lived her childhood years in Ireland, all of her work has that touch of authenticity, faithfully depicting the lifestyle and hardship of Irish families in those days, together with the passions and emotions of her characters, when they become wound up in intricate criminal plots.

Readers of Cathy’s novels are transported to a distant time, with page turning tension, holding tears and laughter in equal measure.

Cathy debut novel, “Shadow across the Liffey,” was a finalist in the R.N.A.’s Joan Hessayon Award in 2013 and she was a contender in the TV programme Food Glorious Food with her recipe Cathy’s Crumbs Crumble.

Nowadays, Cathy lives in rural Leicestershire with her husband, where she writes daily in her ‘Loft Study’ overlooking fields and trees.

Galway Girl by Cathy Mansell - 200

ABOUT ME:

I was born in Ireland, in the friendly neighbourhood of Ballsbridge, Dublin 4.  I grew up to be a robust and adventurous child, and I found all the fun and excitement I needed along the Dodder River.

When I was eleven, my family moved to Donnybrook, a short distance from Ballsbridge.  Here I spent my teenage years until I married at twenty-one.  My husband, Jim, was in the hosiery trade so; Leicester in the UK was the ideal place to move to.

Tragically, Jim died ten years later of leukaemia. It was a devastating blow when both my children, Jason and Sharon, were very young.  Life was tough, but life also works in mysterious ways.  Five years after the loss of my first husband, I found love again and married Dennis. I now have another daughter, Samantha.

Around that time I started to put pen to paper and published articles in newspapers and magazines.  I wrote children’s stories that were regularly broadcast on local radio.

I began writing fiction, romantic suspense, ten years ago, using my Irish background as a base. I found I enjoyed it and couldn’t stop. I’m now plotting my fifth novel.  Writing is now like a drug that I can’t live without.

I hail from a family of writers so; it was inevitable that I was always going to be a writer. My great aunt, Maryanne, was a storyteller and a published poet. She immigrated to the Bronx and while she was there, she wrote a poem for President Roosevelt and he replied to her by letter. We never found out what happened to that letter after she died.

My fourth novel “Where the Shamrock Grows “ is partly based on her life in America, and is due for release on 2nd. September.

11 thoughts on “Guest Blog, Cathy Mansell

  1. Interesting to read about your writing background, Cathie. I enjoyed Shadow Across the Liffey, and I’m looking forward to reading more of your books. Good luck with the new release.

  2. I am enjoying Shadow Across the Liffey at the moment. I don’t want to spoil it for someone who hasn’t read it, but it certainly begins with some heart wrenching moments. It is interesting to find out more about Cathy and how she came to write her books.

  3. I love the settings of your books, Cathy – and have enjoyed all of them.
    What a fascinating tale about your aunt Maryanne! Storytelling must be in the genes.

Leave a Reply

