A-Z of Romance: W is for Weddings

15th April 2006. That was the day I got married, and although it was done as cheaply as possible and having to alter certain parts (i.e. seating plans and dates) to suit other people, it was one of the best days of my life.  So for today’s blog, I thought I’d share some simple moments from the day I went from being Miss Charlotte Leigh, veterinary nurse, to Mrs Charlotte Howard, wife.

official

Official photo

We got married at Sherborne Castle, Dorset in their Orangery. It rained all morning, but stopped long enough for me to walk down the path, and for us to have our photos. I think this was a sign.

Cake

Cake made by my mum

Fortunately for us, my mum makes wedding cakes for a living (or did until recently), so when it came to ours, there was no choice to make. My mum knows me so well that all I did was tell her that I wanted a three tier cake, and that I would be having forget-me-nots (my favourite flower) in my bouquet. Our main colour changed from lilac to cornflower blue after we couldn’t find bridesmaid dresses in any shade of purple, but we managed to incorporate some purple by having fresias as part of our flowers. Mum even managed to match all the shades perfectly, despite living 200 miles away and not having seen the official colours or flowers until the actual day.

at the alter

At the alter

We had a civil service, since neither of us are overly religious. I walked down to my favourite piece of classical music, “Canon in D” by Pachelbel, and we walked out to “Spring from the Four Seasons” by Vivaldi since it was Spring!

first dance

First dance (Savage Garden “I Knew I Loved You”)

It’s hard for me to admit that we met on the internet. After two years of chatting online, we swapped addresses and phone numbers, and fell in love before we’d even met. So, “I Knew I Loved You” by Savage Garden seemed apt as our song. Unfortunately there is a major height difference between us; Rich is 6″3 and I’m 5″0.5. That half inch is very important. Short people will understand.

rings

Rings and flowers

We both exchanged rings. Rich has a plain gold band, and mine is white gold to match my engagement ring. I also wore my Tiger’s Eye bracelet that Rich bought as a gift. My something old, was a necklace I was given as a child when we lived in Oman, worn as an anklet, new was my tiara bought by my mum, I borrowed my veil – it was the same one that my mum wore when she married my dad, and blue was my flowers and bridesmaids.

We plan on renewing our vows in 2016 on our 10th anniversary.

Leave a Reply

