Ask Charlotte: Sexting

“Dear Charlotte,

I know I shouldn’t have done it but I looked through my boyfriends phone the other day. I saw a lot of messages from another girl – the sexting kind if you know what I mean. There were also naked pictures of her. He’d replied to the messages with pictures of him. I went onto Facebook and saw several pms from different women and they were all like the texting messages. I don’t know what to do. I love him so much. I don’t know if I can live without him.

Help,

Useless”

Dear Useless,

First of all – you’re not useless. But your man is a cheating scumbag. I’m sorry to put it so bluntly, but it’s the truth. I try to avoid telling people to just dump their other halves, and always try to find a way to help couples work around their problems, but in your case I say, get rid of his sorry ass and find yourself a man who will love and respect you, the way you deserve. You can live without him. Staying with him is going to pull you apart and destroy any trust you have.

It would only be natural for you to feel down and low, or even depressed, over this entire situation. I would urge you to kick his backside out of your life, and talk to your friends. You need to shout this out, and nobody is better at offering a shoulder to cry on than friends. If that doesn’t help, then please, please, go and speak to your GP. If you have been together for a long time then a little bit of talking therapy may help you to regain your trust in men. I promise you, they’re not all worthless pigs.

Whatever you decide, please do not let this man (who clearly thinks with his small brain), make you feel that you can’t move on. Because you can. We’ve all been cheated on (well, most of us), and for the most part, we’ve all come out the other side. Your Prince Charming is somewhere, but right now, you’re kissing a toad not a frog.

Charlotte

xoxoxo

One thought on “Ask Charlotte: Sexting

Leave a Reply

