Four Letter Words to be released on 14th January!

Yup. It really is. It’s coming!! On the 14th January, Four Letter Words – the sequel to Seven Dirty Words – will be available to buy from Rocking Horse Publishing, Amazon, Kobo, Barnes & Noble, Waterstones, and everywhere else that stocks it!

Extract (unedited):

His voice was as harsh as always, and sent an instant searing heat down my core.  It took me a split moment to catch my breath before I could respond to his deep “Hello?”  It felt like it had been forever since I’d listened to his austere tones.  It still shocked me that he could cause my insides to melt and burn, as though I’d been turned into magma by the sheer sound of his voice.

  “H… hi,” I stuttered, tumbling and tripping over my own tongue.  Silence hung between the phone lines for a few more seconds while we both considered out next sentence with carefulness.  Did I apologise or did I wait for him to say sorry?  If I was waiting for him, I’d be there longer than the planet could live for.  Swallowing what pride I had left I said it.  He didn’t reply.  For a brief moment I wondered if he’d hung up, but there was a lack of dial tone.  “Vance?  I’m sorry,” I said again, hoping to push him.  

“How can I help you Miss Holmes?”  The formality of his sentence sent an immediate lump into my throat, a tidal wave of tears threatened to burst the dam I’d been working so hard to build.  He may as well have plunged a knife through my heart.

“Umm…” I searched through the papers in front of me, although what I was looking for, I didn’t know.  Hiccoughs started in my throat.  I looked towards Lou, her expression was brimming with concern.  “It’s… umm..”  More ‘umms’ and ‘errs’ broke my speech as I gathered my composure back.  “It’s about the sports council.”

“You did get my cheque.”  It was a statement not a question.

“Yes.  Yes, thank you.”  I continued to stumble around the words.  “I… I mean… We….  We need to set up another meeting…  If that’s okay?”

“What about?”  It hurt that he could be so blunt with me.  But then, I’d hurt him, possibly in more ways than I could imagine.  Hadn’t I?  I felt sick.  Waves of nausea swept over me, my stomach cramped into a tight fist.

“The funds…”  Shit.  Shit, shit, shit.  “Umm…”  I couldn’t think!  All my brain could do was swim against an ebbing tide of frustration, guilt, and shame.  “Vance I really need to see you,” I blurted.

Next up – Book cover release… I’ll keep you posted!

Leave a Reply

