Yeovil Literary Festival

Even though I didn’t win (clearly knowing the judges that do the short listing means nothing) I thought I’d go along to the Yeovil Literary Festival dinner, and I’m glad I did.

I went with my husband, friend Andy from the writer’s group, and his wife. We sat at the back and spent an evening gossiping and chatting. It was lovely to get to know him a bit better, and to talk to like-minded people. The food was nice, although my selfish husband ate his cheesecake after I’d suggested he should let me eat two. I’m pretty sure that’s verging on divorce terms…

The guest speaker was author, Santa Montefiore. I have heard of her, but have to say I’d never read any of her books. But now I have a signed copy of “The Summer House”, so will at some point sit down and read it. It was lovely listening to her stories of where and how she finds inspiration, including how she uses characters she’s met and known in real life, within her stories.

litfest

All glammed up for the evening!

More than anything though, I think it was nice to be able to get out of the house and have a night out with great company, good food, and have a laugh. Plus I got to schmooze with some real published authors and booksellers…

Right, off to wash this can of hairspray out of my hair now!!

2 thoughts on “Yeovil Literary Festival

Leave a Reply

