Why I might be a secret prepper

I’ve read the books, I’ve seen the movies, and I’ve watched the documentaries. But I’m still not convinced whether the world is going to end any time soon. Even so, my husband seems to think (and I’m inclined to agree) that I might be a secret prepper, setting up  for survival should the SHTF (Sh*t Hit The Fan) at any point. I’ve even said to him that perhaps we should consider it – not to the extremes that some go, but you know, have a supply of food and water for any emergency reason that could crop up.

Our cupboards are already pretty full of food – mainly because soup was on offer so I took advantage of saving some money while I could. We also have several bottles of water – because the water company were doing works on the pipes and so gave us X amount of litres every day, even though the taps were fine. We are also trying to set ourselves up as near to self-sufficient as we can buy growing fruit and veg. (Although this is a new venture and so want come into fruition until next harvest.)

We also have basic survival gear and skills. Hubby was in the air cadets and did a lot of survival training with them, and I’ve done some basic training with youth club trips, and an excessive amount of reading my Dad’s books. We have pocket guides to foraging, types of mushroom, and SAS survival, and we have books on how to create our own remedies using herbs and essential oils (of which I have a lovely stock). Our attic and sheds (we have 2) are full of equipment that could be useful at some point – Bergen rucksack, bivvy bag, trangia stove, camping gas stove & table, and sleeping bag (I did the Duke of Edinburgh Award and went camping a lot as a teenager) and extensive first aid kit (I have a 4 year old boy who insists on throwing himself off things, doing stunts, and everything else a 4 year old boy does). We also have extra blankets and duvets (lots of visitors), extra oil radiators and electric fans (we live in Britain and get stupid winters and summers).

Weapons we lack in – although we do have things like an axe, pick-axe, lots of sharp knives (my husband likes to cook), and I do own a very heavy griddle pan as well. My husband would jump at the chance of owning a gun, but we live in a small village, not on a farm. We have no need for a gun. Yet.

So if the SHTF tomorrow, we might be able to survive for a few days before needing to venture out and go looting.

Clearly we’re not as well prepared as others, but I have to ask myself how prepared they actually are. Most of the documentaries, the preppers are only thinking about one possible disaster. I think about ALL of them. How do I survive in an economic crisis? What about a solar flare? Floods? Earthquakes? Viruses? Zombies??!?!  (If a zombie attacks me, I’m giving up, rolling in a ball, and being eaten.) The only possible solution that we could come up with was to buy a nuclear submarine and isolate ourselves entirely. But then how will we know if civilisation returns??

Oh there is far too much to think about. Perhaps when I win the ultimate lottery (remember by £100,000,000 blog post?) we will build our dream home to include fortresses, panic rooms, and underground bunkers…

3 thoughts on “Why I might be a secret prepper

  1. The best bit about what you’re doing? You’re thinking about it, and you’re aware that it’s not all cut and dried. Have you any idea how advanced you are compared to the rest of the world? Well done!!!!!

Leave a Reply

