A Writer’s Internet History

So for my next novel…

I  have decided to enter the Yeovil Literary Prize again this year, but rather than writing a romance novel, I am trying my hand at Dystopian fiction. It’s out of my comfort zone, so I thought it would be a good experiment. I’ve written the three chapters and synopsis required by the competition, but they do need editing. I just hope that no crime is committed in my area and that the police never have to go through my internet history.

Sites on guns, crossbows, explosives, the military, maps of the UK… It’s all in there! Add that to the sites I’ve visited for previous (and unpublished) novels on murder and sex, and… Oh dear.

It makes me wonder – how many writers have been questioned by the police? How many authors have been quizzed as to why they’re googling how to commit the perfect crime, researching how to blow important buildings up, and in some cases, spending an awful lot of time on fetish sites. Perhaps I should do my research in a library instead…

5 thoughts on “A Writer’s Internet History

  1. I’ve wondered the same thing, Charlotte. A writer friend of mine says she once got a phone call from the FBI after an extensive search for one of her novels. Scary, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

