NaNoWriMo

November is a busy month for the Howard household – we have 6 family and 2 friends birthdays in November, along with Bonfire Night and the preparations of Christmas next month.  As well as that it is Movember, for which my husband has shaved off the beard part of his goatee, leaving him with a good ol’ handlebar moustache.  All in the name of charity and promoting men’s health.  As a writer I am, of course, taking part in NaNoWriMo – National Novel Writing Month.

For those of you who are unaware of NaNoWriMo, the challenge is to write a novel of 50,000 words or more during November.  I failed miserably last year, only reaching 12,000 thanks to health issues and severe writer’s block.  This year however, I have challenged myself to write a sequel to the now finished, “Seven Dirty Words”.  The title for the sequel is “Four Letter Words”, and it continues the love triangle of Vance Ellery, Paige Holmes, and Matt Jackson.

I’ve joined a couple of Facebook groups regarding NaNoWriMo and there have been a few grammar and spelling queries, which led me to question the reliability of that tool on which a lot of us rely: Spell-Check.  A friend posted a poem a few weeks ago that I felt was rather apt, so have decided to share it here.  I have no idea who wrote it, so I’m afraid I can’t give credit where it belongs.  But here it is, and enjoy!!

Spell Chequer

Leave a Reply

