Pen Names

What have George Eliot, Mark Twain and Anne Rice all got in common?  Answer: They’re all pen names.

It’s very common for writers to use a pseudonym, especially if they write for different genres, or are famous in another sense, but I have always wondered how they came up with their name.  And, as I wait for a response regarding my most recent completed novel, I am beginning to wonder if I shouldn’t choose a pen name to write under.

I’ve recently come to the conclusion that my heart lies with crime, murder and thrillers, which is where I would like to find fame.  But, as many people have pointed out, it is my more steamy, and romantic, scenes that I excel at.  The recent book would be classed as an adult / contemporary romance, and I think I’d like to write more erotic-styled novels and novellas.  But, do I really want the name Charlotte Howard to be associated with both crime and romance genres?  In a word, no.

So here is my dilemma.  How do I choose a pseudonym?  Answers on a postcard please…

One thought on “Pen Names

Leave a Reply

