Brandishing My Red Pen

So here I sit, more than 75,000 words later with a printed manuscript on one knee, laptop on the other, wondering where my red pen has got to.  Yes, the second novel (still untitled!) is complete!!

I am thrilled to the point of feeling physically sick that I have finally completed my second novel.  Of course, by completed, I mean my first draft is finished.  I still have to edit, re-edit, re-write and edit again before it’ll be close to being good enough to send to an agent or publisher.  But can I find a red biro anywhere??  Nope…

Perhaps I should take a few days off before starting the editing process?  What would you do?  Would you get stuck into it straight away, with a desperation to see the novel in print, or would you sit back and admire your handiwork before ripping it to shreds?  And when is the right time to start the next novel?  (I have several ideas in mind, all of which fall under the Adult Fiction genre – definitely my comfort zone.)

And then comes the next question – self-publish, vanity, agent or straight to the publisher?  I self-published through KDP.Amazon.com with my first novel, and while I don’t regret the decision, it was hard work to do the editing, proof-reading and marketing all on my own, to rake in only a few measly pennies here and there.  I like the idea of going straight to a publisher and cutting out the middle man, saving that small percentage of royalties, but at the same time, I have no idea when it comes to legalities and contracts, so perhaps an agent would be the best step forward?

Well, either way, it’s a decision that I can take my time in making, now that the wordcount has been met…

One thought on “Brandishing My Red Pen

Leave a Reply

